That Is A New Environment


The morning as I entered the ward, I felt something I have never felt before. I found no word to describe that feeling. For the course of 3 year training to be a medical doctor, it is the first time I am here and it is also the last term of my extensive training. For 3 years, I have been to some places more than twice, and it has really worn me down.

Smile Cambodia

During my first year of training, I spent 4 months each at medical and surgical service at Calmette and Khmer-Soviet Friendship Hospital respectively. In the second year of training, the course was divided into many more pierce – Psychiatry (KSAH), Ophthalmology and ORL (Ang Doung), Radiology (Calmette), Dermatology (Preah Kossamak + Kien Klaing, Center for Rehabilitation). In this third year, I first went to Surgical Service (PKH), Gynecology (KSAH), Medical Service (Calmette), and alas, Pediatric at National Hospital of Pediatrics, each for 2 month period.

I am chosen to train/observe at the surgical service and for these first 3 days, the main case of admission is cleft lip or/and cleft palate. Another case is club foot. Both are congenital. However, with the help of surgery these deformities can be treated and the lip, the palate, and the foot/feet could become virtually the same to the people who are born without any deformity.

I think I am a bit far out of topic, let’s go directly to the point. What gives me the feeling I have never felt before? Well, it is simply the smile of those post-operated kids. :) A smile can heal the world.

Make donation: Operation Smile Cambodia

Being a medical student is such a huge burden for a nut and lazy person as I am. Phew! But I always say to me that I must not falter, I must not fall behind, I must go on even I am the last of the prom to reach the finishing line.

អំពី តា ម៉ាប់

ខ្មែរ​ម្នាក់​ដែល​រស់​ដើម្បី​ខ្មែរ ! A young Khmer with big ambition for his motherland!
This entry was posted in កំណត់សរសេរ តាម៉ាប់ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That Is A New Environment

  1. ? និយាយថា៖

    មុខ​ហ្នឹង​ខ្ជិល​ តែ​នៅ​ខ្ជិល​ចាញ់​ខ្ញុំ :D

សាសង

